Imperio

Week 1 of Frozen Home Made Dinners

In Happy Hats, Searching for simplicity on November 9, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Order_Up: Luigi the Happy Chef

Simplifying the cooking experience has worked out well.  Not fantastic, but well enough that I am encouraged.  The cooking itself was fortunately uncomplicated on Week 1.  I baked everything.

Drumsticks in fajita seasoning.  Preheat oven at 350 F.  Clean drumsticks, as many as you want.  Dissolve one envelope of fajita seasoning in water.  Cut some onions.  Place drumsticks in previously lightly greased pirex container.  Pour fajita mix on top of the drumsticks.  Cover drumsticks with the cut onion, sliced or cubed or chopped.  Then cover with aluminum foil and stick in the oven for a little bit over an hour.

Egg soufflé with ham and white corn.  Grab 8 eggs, 1 cup of milk, 8 slices of baked ham cut into little squares, frozen white corn, pepper, salt, garlic.  Mix the eggs with the milk, pepper, salt and garlic in the blender. Pour into previously lightly greased pirex container.  Add the ham and frozen white corn.  Stick in the oven for about 20 min, or until you can stick a fork in it and it comes out clean.

Cottage cheese, egg, rice, veggies cupcakes.  Pour a container of 10oz of cottage cheese in a bowl, add two cups of cooked rice, add your favorite frozen vegetable mix (small pieces), add two eggs, add seasoning to your liking and mix all together.  Pour mix into previously lightly greased cupcake pan.  Stick in the over for about 20 min or until you can stick a fork in one of the cupcakes and it comes out clean.

The cool thing about baking everything was that I put the oven at 350 and put the drumsticks on the bottom rack to bake while I prepared the other two dishes.  Then I put the other two dishes to bake on the top rack, one at a time.  By the time the two were done I checked on the drumsticks and they were ready, with the meat peeling off the bone.  I think I spent about two hours up to this point.  Then I took a break to wait for the food to cool off.

Once the food is cold grab your sandwich size Ziploc bags and place the food in the bags in single servings.  I placed two of the cupcakes in each bag.  That was my serving size.  I also placed two drumsticks per bag.  I cut the soufflé in squares and placed two squares in each bag.  Then put all the bags in the freezer.  I think this was about one hour.

My favorite was the cupcakes.  My least favorite was the drumsticks.  The egg soufflé is so-so. What was great was that dinner was ready in record time that week.  I just got home and nuked dinner for 2-3 minutes each plate and ta-ra!

One cool unexpected side effect was that we didn’t have as many dirty dishes during the week.  It was just the plates, not the pots, frying pans, bowls and mixing utensils every night.  My husband was happy about this as he is the one that does the dishes.

Also great was that we have left over frozen things to start building some variety.  I declare then Week 1 of Frozen Home Made Dinners a success.

Have you gone down this path? What has been your experience? Do you care to share your frozen menu?  Please post your comments.

If my post resonated with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them by email, facebook or twitter. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

