Imperio

00 of 52 – Art Challenge

In My Happy Hats Gallery on December 28, 2011 at 11:23 am

Recently I listened to the TED talk of Brene Brown and then bought her book The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are. There are many things she said in her TED talk and her book that touched me.  One of them was that people who are perfectionists are motivated by the deep fear of not being perfect and that fear sometimes leads to life paralysis.  I can see that happening for me in many areas.  One of them is my drawings art.  There are many voices that at some time or another made a comment and for whatever reason their comment stayed with me, at least stayed with me the way I understood it.  Mainly things like: “This is not pretty, nobody will really like it.  It is too common/badly drawn/not professional.  Anybody can do this, it is not unique/great/perfect.”

So here I am taking a leap and setting up a project for this year. The goal for 2012 is to create at least 52 pieces of art by the end of the year, roughly one per week.  I intend with this challenge to create a space to feel free to play with colors, media, styles and subjects.  I intend this exercise to overwhelm the guards in my mind’s door so they give up, sit down and let the doors open wide to all ideas.

I have set up two stores, cafepress where you can buy mousepads, note cards, and journals, and imagekind where you can buy posters and canvas with my art.  Check them out.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them by email, facebook or twitter. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. […] first steps into considering an Art Challenge were done with watercolor.  This is one of the illustrations I made that encouraged me to actually […]

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

