Imperio

Chiles en vinagre

In Happy Hats on January 8, 2012 at 10:00 pm

My husband has developed a liking for hot pickled jalapeño peppers, not tamed, not kind of hot, but hot.  In Mexico they are known as chiles en vinagre (peppers in vinegar), and it seemed to me all women there were born with the recipe in their heads, all but me.  I have never been a fan of them, however slowly I am being inducted into the flavor.  One of the things we are mindful of is our intake of sodium.  We strive to keep it moderate to low.  The pickled jalapeño peppers from the store have more than a moderate amount.  So we went to our Fiesta store yesterday to buy a Rosca de Reyes and lots of beautiful hopefully really hot peppers.  I looked for a good video of how to make chiles en vinagre.  I didn’t completely follow the recipe I found, but it was a good guideline.  My thanks to previribon.

peppers and garlic segments
I washed five jalapeño peppers, two yellow peppers that I want to say are banana peppers, and five regular chiles.

rosemary, oregano, thyme, sage

I peeled five garlic segments and got some rosemary, oregano, and thyme from my garden.

chopped garlick and herbs

Finely chopped the garlic and herbs and placed them in a bowl.

hollowed out yellow pepper

Hollowed out the yellow peppers, and took the heart with the seeds out. I didn’t take the seeds out from the jalapeños.

sliceds peppers in bowl

Sliced the yellow peppers and jalapeño peppers. Discarded the tails and the tips. Removed the tails of the regular peppers and added them without slicing to the rest of the ingredients in the bowl.

peppers in frying pan

I put a frying pan to heat with some olive oil. Put all the contents from the bowl  in the pan to fry. Added some salt and thawed crinkled cut carrots. Moved everything constantly for about a minute. Then added a cup of water and waited about five minutes until I saw the water starting to boil. I added a cup of white vinegar, turned the stove top off and covered the pan. I left them there to cool off, with the lid on.

jars of picked peppers

Once they were cold I put them in two jars that I had washed thoroughly and dried up with paper towels. Now they are in the fridge waiting to be pulled out for tonight’s dinner. They taste awesome. I am very proud of myself.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them by email, facebook or twitter. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. Oh my, I wish you were my wife. Wait a minute…you are. I’ve got one lucky tummy, I’ll say. Thank you very much for doing this. You’re very sweet.

  2. You’re very welcome! 😀 It was fun to learn to make them. Oh, the things I do for love.

  3. Wow, sounds very hot but this must be a nice accompaniment to any meal.

    • Hi Malou! Yes, they are pretty hot. My husband got teary eyed after eating some of the seeds. He he. But he loved it. It does add a great flavor to many types of meals. I don’t eat the chiles, but do add the liquid they’re in to my rice for example.

  4. WOW¡¡¡ Life is curious. I’ve learned to do them to. jejeje It was because we bagan to sell basket tacos, so we needed a lot of them. But of course they weren’t so special. But they tasted good. I’m surprised. How come it? We both learned the same things (some of them) and we are so far. I love you so much.

    • I know! Life is funny like that, little sister. I’ll have to learn to make those basket tacos. My husband and son won’t know what hit them. Can you give me the recipe? I love you too, very much.

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

