Imperio

03 – Jogging on Saturday

In Jogging on Saturday on January 21, 2012 at 10:30 am
03 Jogging on Saturday

2012 - Week 3. Smiling at the end of my morning jog

Today it was the dumps trying to get up from bed.  I kept saying to myself “no matter the excuses, when you’re done you’ll feel amazing.”  Then at every other lap I had to struggle with Brain as it kept telling me “I can’t do it anymore, I’m tired! Stop!”  It was like having a 3 year old throwing a tantrum inside my head.  I ended up saying to myself: “Okay, let’s see.  Who’s tired? are you Legs tired? you Arms? what about you Lungs? No? okay, let’s keep going.”  Brain eventually gave up trying to make me stop.  I wonder if any other people talk to their bodies like this?  It worked for me this morning.  I completed my 12 laps around the 1/4 mile pond track.  I only walked for half a lap, the rest I jogged.  And yes, I felt amazing when it was done and at moments I felt amazing while going through it.  Then all I wanted was breakfast and coffee.  Now life calls me back, a house screaming to be picked up, a brave little boy that wants attention, my husband, my dog, my fish, the empty refrigerator, my art,  the rest of the weekend.  I’m glad I got up.  I’m glad for the cold, crisp morning and the ducks waddling around in the pond.  I’m glad for taking that time for my own.  Now I’m glad to share the rest of my weekend. I’m ready to work through it, 1/4 of a mile at a time.

distance sign

Distance sign

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them by email, facebook or twitter. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. jejeje Sí que hace frio. No inventes!!! En Colima hace frio como para salir a correr 😛 Ya en serio, que chido que sales a correr. Pero, no manches!!!! que frio!!!!!

    • Si, hace mucho frio! Pero me ha gustado comenzar mi año con este reto :D. Hay que tomar tiempo de donde se puede. A ver si asi animo a Nicholas a levantarse temprano y que me acompañe. A pero luego no se que hacer si se cansa, ni modo de cargarlo en la espalda :P. Todavia no estoy tan fuerte! Je je je je.

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

