Imperio

Status update on the Vegetable Challenge

In Healthy Eating on January 26, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Baked vegetables

One of my goals for the year is to increase the amount of vegetables we eat at home.  Specifically I want to make available at the table two different vegetables for lunch and dinner, as much of them as my two peeps and I can eat.

I am not very good at working with fresh vegetables yet.  I buy them and then leave them to die the refrigerator’s death.  A lettuce head I bought last weekend is dying a cold death as I type.  Frozen vegetables have worked much better for me. My conscience complains once in a while about the plastic bag I’m adding to the environment and the idea (not proven yet) that it would be cheaper to buy them fresh, cut them up and them put them into baggies in the freezer myself.  Despite that vague feeling of guilt, I’ve been going through my frozen vegetables stash at a good pace.  What makes me happier than emptying my freezer is that my husband and son are eating more vegetables and so am I.

A couple of weeks ago I discovered that my oven and frozen vegetables work well together.  I had a bag of frozen potatoes (already seasoned), a bag of frozen crinkle cut carrots and a bag of whole okra.  I spread them all on a cookie tray at 350 F for 15 minutes.  Oh, my goodness! They were lovely.  We know that potatoes are not really a vegetable.  That didn’t matter.  We cracked down on these oven cooked chunks of awesomeness until complete obliteration was accomplished.

Yesterday night I sliced about six medium sized red potatoes and put them all nice and orderly on the cookie tray.  Ground sea salt all over them and drizzled them with olive oil.  I put them on the oven at 350 for 15 minutes.  I think they could’ve gone for 5 more minutes to get crispy, but still they came out delicious.  I had another tray with non-frozen carrots, frozen little onions and one piece of frozen corn on the cob.  I sprinkled them all with lime seasoned salt.  The carrots were so-so, the onions were good and the corn on the cob could’ve used more time.

We’ve eaten lots of vegetables: carrots, peas, green beans, cut okra, whole okra, Italian green beans, and all the cool vegetable mixes they have in the frozen section at the store.  I still want to move on to buying fresh vegetables, even if I end up freezing them, but I’m not there yet.  The main objective, that of increasing the amount of vegetables we eat, is being accomplished one meal at a time.   I have started the Healthy Eating section, although I don’t see myself posting but updates on that from time to time.  We’ll see what time allows.  It would be fun to have some video for those.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them by email, facebook or twitter. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

