Imperio

07 Cat jumping over sunflowers

In My Happy Hats Gallery on January 29, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Cat jumping over sunflowers

I really like this cat jumping over sunflowers.  The colors are bright and the sunflowers are playful.  Do they look familiar? If they do, you are right.  The sunflowers are the sun in my Dog and Porcupine piece.  I love sunflowers.  Their bright big heads following the sun, then nodding off when night falls.  I have never seen a field of sunflowers.  My mother spoke of being in a field of wild sunflowers when she was little.  The sunflowers were taller than her, and were all around her, all looking up to the sun.  It must have been magical.

This cat is from a drawing exercise, where the objective was to draw twenty or so cats.  And then pick up the ones or one I really liked and play with them.  I really like this cat’s pose.   The background dictates whether he is jumping, flying, standing up or simply laying down on the floor, stretching out to cool off on the tiles.  Here, my cat is jumping over bright, beautiful flowers.   I think cats are walkers of worlds.  This blue cat is from some other universe and is just visiting.

I am not a cat person myself, though.  I read dogs better and feel more comfortable around them.  My son has been asking for a couple of kittens.  I tell him we’ll continue to talk about it.  And when our sweet dog is no longer with us we’ll decide.  He he.  I think he’s looking forward to that sad event happening.

If you like this piece, you will find note cards, or journals, or mouse pads printed with it in my cafepress store. If you’re interested in a poster or canvas, you can get it at my imagekind store.  You can also like the post or comment if you like the piece, you do not need to buy anything.  I would love to receive that feedback. You see, I have a personal  Art Challenge for this year and I’m working on it, one art piece at at time.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them by email, facebook or twitter. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. Remembering ma! It´s so beautiful your drawing. And it has a lot of movement. Jeje It´s a flaying cat.

    • Hello little sister!
      Yes, I’ve been thinking about mom. I’m glad you like my drawing. I like it a lot too. 🙂 It is a flying cat, he he he, flaying cat could mean it is a cat that skins other creatures. Now that could be a good story!
      Hugs,
      Imperio

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

