Imperio

09 – Dryad

In My Happy Hats Gallery on February 10, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Dryad

My husband asked me if I think about the colors I will use while I’m working on a piece. For this one in particular, I remember thinking about colors when I was inking the ribbons on the hair. I wanted the ribbons to be red. From there I thought about what colors would look nice with red. And golds and browns came to mind. I then decided which areas would be dark and which ones light. The face and neck where done in a single line, not lifting the pencil from the paper. Doing it this way is fun as it creates very defined areas in the object or subject. The challenge is simply to not lift the pencil from the paper. The mind is busy thinking about where to go next and how to make it work so the pencil continues to touch the paper, it has no time to think about anything else which is good. I added two more rules: It was okay to go back on the line to find a suitable place to go in another direction to create another feature and it was okay to stop the one line once it was time to create other elements of the piece.  It was fun.

If you like this piece, you will find note cards, journals, and mouse pads printed with it in my cafepress store. If you’re interested in a poster or canvas, you can get it at my imagekind store.  You can also like the post or comment if you like the piece, you do not need to buy anything.  I would love to receive that feedback. You see, I have a personal  Art Challenge for this year and I’m working on it, one art piece at at time.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them by email, facebook or twitter. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. Love the swirls and the hair ribbons. Really like this one!

    • Thank you! I have a co-worker who likes to make puzzles. She says her mind stops running when she works on them. Puzzles are a restful place for her mind. I have found it is the same for me the more details a drawing I work on has. I enjoyed losing sense of time and the heightened focus that came with making sure things balanced, curves twirled, and ribbons held tight. I know you put a time limit of 30 min. How does that work for you?

      • I tend to work really fast anyway. I think it comes for working about 5-6 years in advertising where everything is done super-fast and always was “due yesterday!” hahaha It was stressful but so much fun. Some days I do spend a little more time and some days a little less. I just hope people realize I am doing these super quick and they aren’t meant to be fine art that I would ordinarily spend 20 hours on. I paint portraits for people and those take so much time and are so detailed. I think that’s why I like doing these quick ones!

      • Yes, I can understand that working on a quick piece feels like playing. I have never done a piece that takes me 20 hrs to complete. My sister Tayde has. http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/tayde-salazar.html. Here you can see some samples of her work. However I have the same feeling when working on procedures for work. He he he. When I just write a procedure for something small it is nice.

  2. I like it. It’s like 2 people in one. Jeje. I like it.

  3. […] here’s my art piece for the week.  I was feeling kind of stumped after working on the Dryad, which got me very good feedback, thank you […]

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

