Imperio

10 – Gray Dancer

In My Happy Hats Gallery on February 17, 2012 at 9:11 pm

Gray Dancer

I have to give kudos to my husband. I am here getting it all set up for this post and he is keeping our baby happy. Not an easy thing to do on a Friday evening after coming back from doing our grocery shopping. Will have to write sometime about those frantic experiences.

Anyway, here’s my art piece for the week.  I was feeling kind of stumped after working on the Dryad, which got me very good feedback, thank you all! 🙂

I sat down at my work table and couldn’t find a way to start.  Finally I decided to let my subconscious work.  I did single color blots on paper with poster paint and a piece of cardboard.  Gray, Orange, Blue, Brown and Purple.  I let them dry and sat down to look at them.   The figures that kept coming up for me were creatures dancing.    This Gray Dancer as you see is really moving his rump.  His robes are flowing around him as he shakes and twirls around.  I can almost hear drums and flutes and strings and perhaps a peal of metal notes.  After scanning the original I decided to add a bit of digital effects.  I like the movement, the roughness of the piece and the strangeness of this creature, covered in old, almost tattered robes dancing its heart out.

If you like this piece, you will find note cards, journals, and mouse pads printed with it in my cafepress store. If you’re interested in a poster or canvas, you can get it at my imagekind store.  You can also like the post or comment if you like the piece, you do not need to buy anything.  I would love to receive that feedback. You see, I have a personal  Art Challenge for this year and I’m working on it, one art piece at at time.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them using any or all of the fancy sharing buttons below. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

