Imperio

Sisters

In My Happy Hats Gallery on February 26, 2012 at 8:14 am

Sisters

A month ago I was reading an article in National Geographic about Twins.  They have this new theory going about a new element that comes into play adding to the nature vs nurture mix.   It was pretty interesting, but that’s not where this illustration comes from.  It is more selfish in nature.  I always wanted to have a twin sister, and I always wanted to have red hair, and a few people as I grew up expressed the light disappointment I didn’t get my grandfather’s blue eyes, although my eyes were kind of green when I was a baby, then they became a more regular brown.

Then, Friday night I was watching the movie The Secret of Kells with my son.  I love the visual style of that movie!  It is all very geometric and simple.  And I love that magic is so naturally part of the world.  I wanted to add some of that simplicity and magic to my Sisters illustration.  I am happy with the results.

If you like this piece, you will find note cards, journals, and mouse pads printed with it in my cafepress store. If you’re interested in a poster or canvas, you can get it at my imagekind store.  You can also like the post or comment if you like the piece, you do not need to buy anything.  I would love to receive that feedback. You see, I have a personal  Art Challenge for this year and I’m working on it, one art piece at at time.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them using any or all of the fancy sharing buttons below. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. Is this a painting or created on the computer? What software do you use? I love their dresses… the patterns and their holding hands.

    • Thank you! 🙂 I started with pencil, then inked it with a sharpie marker, then scanned it and colored it in the computer. I have a free software called GIMP.

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

