Imperio

20 – Dark Clowns

In Ink Paths on April 28, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Sorry for the absence.  I’ve been under the weather on and off.   Hopefully I’m getting out of that spell.  So, here’s the news.

Today I feel particularly happy as I’ve finished another illustration I prepared with ink splotches.  I thought this would be a good opportunity to show the behind the scenes to the finished illustration.

Dark Clowns started with droplets of ink on a white page, which I then tilted and moved around to allow the ink to run on the page.

Dark Clowns - ink drops stage

After that I looked at the page and waited to see what my mind could create with the paths the ink had chosen to make.  First came the face on the right, many days later the face on the left.  I drew with pencil then once it felt okay I used the sharpie marker.

Dark Clowns without color

After that came the next fun part for me, which is scanning into the computer and playing with colors.  I added a bit of texture to the background as well.  I am looking forward to the time I am more proficient using the computer to color them.  I worked on it until I felt satisfied with the results.  So, here it is, the final stage of the Dark Clowns illustration.

Dark Clowns, finished illustration

If you like this piece, you will find note cards, journals, and mouse pads printed with it in my cafepress store. If you’re interested in a poster or canvas, you can get it at my imagekind store.  You can also like the post or comment if you like the piece, you do not need to buy anything.  I would love to receive that feedback. You see, I have a personal  Art Challenge for this year and I’m working on it, one art piece at at time.

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical or inspiring, please share it with them using any or all of the fancy sharing buttons below. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. […] 20 – Dark Clowns 19 – Elephant plays with mud 16 – Monster fish 15 – Tree and Dog […]

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

