Imperio

Book Talk

In Book Experiences on May 1, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Here are the books I’ve finished recently.  So far I only have 4 under my belt to account for the minimum 12 I want to read this year.  There’s no topic.  This is simply to keep reading going.

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris.  There are a few scenes described in this book that had me laughing.  I specially enjoyed the one where David Sedaris is working as a mover and he and his mates get to this apartment where nothing is packed.  The lady waves a hand and says something like “Well, come on in and… you know”.  Then the boss answers “You know… what? Use your f#@!%$ magic powers”.  In the end they did use their magic powers and moved the lady to her new place.  The book is interesting in the sense that the author has been kind to let us in his life and his anecdotes are meant to be fun for the reader.  I’ve read some of the reviews and it seems people find different parts of the book funny, which is good.  David Sedaris can reach a broad audience in terms of sense of humor.  You might find something here that touches yours.

The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business by Charles Duhigg.  I really liked this book. I say I don’t have much time to read but I found sufficient time to read this one over a weekend and a day.  The power of being able to have control over things that I feel I don’t usually have control of, or to create them or to change them if they’re not working.  The power to effect bigger changes than I believe myself capable of by making a small change.  That’s what this book offers.  The recipe is simple.  Isn’t it always? Identify the habit you want to change.  Identify what triggers it.  Identify what craving the habit satisfies.  Then, change the habit and keep at it consistently.  Extend that to identify small things that can be changed.  The small changes that spill over and create bigger changes in a chain.  I think the book is great. Check it out.

The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice.  It is pretty much like her vampire books, but with immortal werewolves that have sex and get emotionally worked up.  Her vampires just get emotionally worked up, you know, immortality makes them go crazy and depressed at some point and then get over it at some other point.   The werewolves like her vampires have a lot of money and swim in this world of sensual richness.  Taste and colors, sounds and textures, everything is a short step away of inducing ecstasy.  For some reason while reading in her book the description of the werewolves manor I felt like buying a piano.  I had in my mind images of my son and I sitting at the piano practicing keys and the light that came through the window at our backs was bright and soft and warm and everything had that soft edge dream quality to it.  I went as far as to looking at piano prices to see for how long I would have to save!  Anne Rice seems to have explored on this book more than in her vampire books, the question of “Am I deserving of happiness?” These creatures suffering centers on whether they are good, and deserving of happiness and love.  They see themselves as monsters.  I bet their suffering was probably there the whole time, however their perceived difference from the regular human being has been amplified by the transformation.  I wonder if a human being who is not crippled by such doubts would make for a boring story if transformed to a vampire or werewolf.  Maybe that’s why nobody writes those stories. The exploration of the answer is interesting,  and the conclusion Anne Rice gets to, right in the final page is good.  And I won’t tell in case you want to read the book.

Check out the other books I’ve read

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

