Imperio

To jog a 10K on Saturday

In Jogging on Saturday on June 19, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I completed the first week.  Yay!

Monday.  1 hour of grueling yoga poses following Nicki Doane in her Ashtanga Yoga Beginner’s Workout video.   I didn’t know Yoga could make you that strong.  I am at this point kind of pitiful at Yoga.

Tuesday.  I completed 3 miles of actual jogging with 4 reps of 20seconds each at my full speed.  I managed to breath in those 20 seconds.  Didn’t know a 20 second period was so long you could actually do that.

Wednesday.  Lovely

Thursday. I was actually excited about just doing 3 miles, no repetitions.  I did.  I jogged them all and didn’t count the warm up distance.

Friday.  Rocking

Saturday.  I got up at 5.40am. Stumbled into my jogging shoes and climbed on the treadmill.  I started walking to warm up with the idea that I wasn’t going to count the warm-up as part of the 5 miles.  Just like I’d done on Thursday. Well, once I got to 3.4 miles or so I decided that shuck it, I was going to count the warm up distance as part of the 5 and it didn’t matter that I walked some.  He he he.  It took me 1hr and 5 minutes to finish.   I absolutely enjoyed the shower at 7am and the rest of a long Saturday with the feeling of having accomplished something important first thing in the day.

Sunday. I didn’t do 30 minutes of yoga before going to bed.  I did about one hour of grueling weed pulling along with my husband and son.  It turned out to be a pretty good and fun exercise session and our front yard looks much better.  Note  to self: Sunblock the heck out of everyone before attacking the weeds next time  😀  Does this expression make any sense? Sunblock the heck out of everyone?

My evaluation of this week: My body was challenged in a good achievable way. My mind needs more work in fending off voices (as in: I need to go out and make breakfast, it is getting late, my son is going to wake up and I haven’t finished, blah, blah, blah) and maintaining a positive attitude (as in: You’re doing good, keep on going, that kind of thing rather than: I’m tired, maybe I should stop).  Overall I enjoyed my whole training week.  Next week I plan to repeat the first week.  The reason is that on Saturday I didn’t fully jog the 5 miles and I want to build up to it.

Training

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical, fun or inspiring, please share it with them using any or all of the fancy sharing buttons below. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. I am SO impressed. You are doing much better with this schedule than I am. Way to go!! 🙂

    • Thank you, Tracy! It’s been a welcome change of pace. Thank you very much for posting about it and giving me a way to spice up my workouts. I appreciate it.

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

