Imperio

To jog a 10K on Saturday

In Jogging on Saturday on July 8, 2012 at 1:37 pm

I completed my third week 6/25 to 7/1.

Monday.  1 hour of yoga with Nicki Doane in her Ashtanga Yoga Beginner’s Workout video.   The workout in the video is actually 1hr with 40 min of extra stuff.  I didn’t read the description on the box correctly. I was very proud of myself for finishing it and the one to last pose is the one called corpse pose.  On this pose you lay down on the floor, close your eyes and just relax e v e r y t h i n g.  It was a wonderful feeling, particularly for the muscles on my back.  They were tight and slowly and painfully they started to relax, until the pain faded away.  Ahhhhh!

Tuesday.  I completed 3 miles of actual jogging with 4 reps of 20seconds each at my full speed.  Wahoo!

Wednesday.  Enjoyed a slow lunch.

Thursday. I completed 3 miles jogging, no repetitions.  Again I didn’t count the warm up distance.  I like this day because it feels a bit like a treat.

Friday.  Delicious slow lunch.

Saturday.  I did bring my tennis shoes home this time.  I did the 5 miles not counting the warm up distance.  I had to stop 3 times and walk, and I managed to listen to my voices but not give in to them.  One of the changes I made was to take my jog after breakfast.  That quieted one of the loudest voices in my head.  Everyone was fed and happy.   One other voice, the one of “I have spent already too much time on myself and I should go out and make sure others are okay and happy” was not as loud this time.  I think these two feed on each other.

Sunday. I didn’t do anything really.  I have family visiting!  My sweet nephew who I had not seen in a long time.  So, I spent my Sunday just enjoying him and driving him to all the nearby stores around my house!  That was simply awesome.

My evaluation of this week: It was a good week.  I really feel happy for having stuck with it specially on Saturday and Monday.  I think those two days are the hardest simply because they happen at home and home is a place where giving in to the voices is easier.  I think my determination muscle is getting stronger.

The week of 7/2 to 7/8 I didn’t do anything!  Well, I drove quite a bit.  I think my driving goal is very complete now.  So I’ll remove it.  For the week of 7/2 to 7/8 I decided that my nephew is here and I was going to be lazy and would just spend time enjoying his visit.  I will repeat the first week of the program this coming week.  I’m inching towards being able to do the second week of the program, but I’m not there yet.

 

Training

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical, fun or inspiring, please share it with them using any or all of the fancy sharing buttons below. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. I’m glad you do yoga.

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

