Imperio

31 – Leviathan

In My Happy Hats Gallery on September 7, 2012 at 11:06 am

Leviathan


After doing Mechanical Nature I thought I would brave it off and try another illustration directly with marker, I chickened out after drawing a single straight line.  I switched to pencil.

I had drawn the line on a corner of the paper.  Possibilities, right? The thing that came to my mind was tentacles coming out from a flat surface.  Dangerous, powerful, beautiful, scary.  Then as I finished them I realized they were not coming out, but rather were hiding under a serene, impenetrable face.  It was then that the word Leviathan came to mind.  I most surely do not have the full grasp of that word, however to me it means a sea creature of immense size.

I really like this image.  This enormous creature lifting itself from the depths of the sea to watch the moon.  It begs a story to tell us why.  Maybe that’s something I’ll work on later.  A small vignette for this Leviathan.

If you like any of my pieces and want to buy them you will find them in my imagekind or cafepressstores.  If you like them but do not want to buy them, please know I would still love your comments, likes and shares of their posts!

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical, fun or inspiring, please share it with them using any or all of the fancy sharing buttons below. Sharing is the only way my writing will reach new readers. Thank you!

  1. […] other and boom! I saw it!  This process is so amazing to me.  It reminds me of my illustration Leviathan.  This amazing creature coming up from the bottom of the sea.  Rising up to close the distance […]

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

