Imperio

35 – The Sleeping Dragon (or Why is Smoke Coming Out of the Mountain?)

In My Happy Hats Gallery on October 6, 2012 at 11:22 am

The Sleeping Dragon (or Why is Smoke Coming Out of the Mountain?)

Trust.  I always thought trust was something that was outside of myself.  I would trust others or not.  Now I realize trust is also within, more than in just knowing there are things I cannot do right now, such as a handstand (which I don’t really want to do either :)).  What am I trying to say? Working on this illustration brought again voices and feelings that had me saying to myself: “It’s going to be okay.  Go on.  It’s going to be okay.”  I grew up knowing that the way my mom did things was the right way and in many cases the only way.  Once I assimilated that, once I stopped yearning/exploring/creating a way of my own, pushing against that other-imposed/then self-imposed wall of distrust of my capacity to create is hard.  Don’t take me wrong, I am not complaining about my mom.  Not at all.  I am convinced she did the best she could do with the resources she had.  She kept me safe and loved and wanted me to succeed and be happy.  This is just me trying to expand inside beyond the self-confidence/self-trust my mom was able to build in me.  So I am pushing against my own walls and sometimes that process generates anxiety.  Today, the result of that is this illustration.  The Sleeping Dragon or (Why is Smoke Coming Out of the Mountain?).

If you like any of my pieces and want to buy them you will find them as mousepads, cards, journals and prints in my imagekind or cafepress stores.  If you like them but do not want to buy them, please know I would still love  for you to comment, like them and/or share them!

If my blog resonates with you and you know other people who would find it interesting, practical, fun or inspiring, please share it with them using any or all of the fancy sharing buttons below. Sharing is the only way my writing and art will reach new readers. Thank you!

Please, tell me what you think about this post.

